Oregon Commission on Autism Spectrum Disorder

Close Icon
Contact Info     Call 24 Hours: 1.888.222.5847

Screening, Identification & Assessment


Values circleEnsuring all Oregonians with ASD receive efficient evaluations and prompt referrals to services


  • Identify core indicators for screening and evaluation processes
  • Identify strategies to increase public awareness about the importance, availability and features of screening, evaluation and assessments for ASD
  • Identify strategies for increasing screening, evaluations, and assessments throughout Oregon
  • Ensure all children receive a screening for ASD by 24 months (and later when appropriate) and adults who have not previously been identified as having an ASD are evaluated
  • Ensure agencies and health care providers make appropriate and timely referrals for services
  • Identify quality core indicators for assessments for educational and health care services

Ongoing Accomplishments:

  • Collaboration with Help Autism Now Society in the production and distribution of autism awareness materials to all pediatricians as well as to many childcaring and social service agencies across the state
  • Development of uniform standards for the identification of ASD in both healthcare and education (elements of the evaluation, competencies of evaluation team)
  • Survey of mental health professionals to determine training needs regarding identification of individuals with ASD
  • Collaboration with Oregon Center for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs in the development of joint education and health care identification teams in 9 communities
  • Collaboration with Oregon Department of Education in the development of improved special education rules on identifying ASD

 Upcoming Meetings:


Next Meeting: TBD

Details: All meetings are conducted virtually through AdobeConnect and telephone conference call




toolbox 2



Members icon Chairperson: Joyce Bernheim

Subcommittee Members: Mary Hough, Debra Koutnik, Nancy Lawson, Gwen Loomis, Bob Nickel, Michael Paul, Darryn Sikora, Becky Smallwood, Mark Whitaker, Karen Apgar, Mary Apple, Lea Forsman, Brandy Olson, Annette Skowron